Songs of the Week: November 8, 2018 edition

Before I jump into this week’s featured songs, I have an appeal for my wife’s favorite singer-songwriter, Brett Dennen — who we’re seeing this Saturday at D.C.’s 9:30 Club. It’ll be our second time seeing him there. The first time was one of my favorite shows in recent years (he’s just so lovable).

So Brett Dennen is extremely fan-oriented, often asking at shows and on social media what songs fans want to hear. My answer is to that specific question is “Burning Spirit” — but I decided to do him one better and plotted out his entire setlist for Saturday.

It’s in the form of this week’s playlist and has a healthy dose of Dennen’s latest releases, including his two 2018 EPs Let’s… and Here’s Looking At You Kid. I’m also a huge fan of 2016’s Por Favor LP, so that’s well-represented, as well:

  1. Already Gone
  2. Comeback Kid
  3. Here’s Looking at You Kid
  4. Blessed
  5. What’s the Secret?
  6. San Francisco
  7. Stand Up For It
  8. Cassidy
  9. Let’s
  10. Ain’t No Reason
  11. Surprise, Surprise
  12. Wild Child
  13. Bonfire
  14. Burning Spirit
  15. She’s Mine
  16. Must Be Losing My Mind (encore)
  17. Sydney (encore)

Tell me this wouldn’t be a good show. What would you do differently? What’s missing? Let me know on SOMETHINGGOOD’s new Instagram account. I’m tired of Twitter. And if you happen to read this, Brett, break a leg… and play “Burning Spirit,” goddamnit!

Songs of the Week below…

“Alone Too” by Nanami Ozone

Tiny Engines

Phoenix post-rock band Nanani Ozone is the latest addition to Tiny Engines’ wonderful roster of artists. On November 1, the four-piece put out a strong digital 45 (including “Alone Too”) – which is a prelude to their new LP NO, which comes out in early 2019.

“Let Go For Love” by Rare Americans


Rare Americans are hustling. The Vancouver, BC band put out a simmering self-titled full-length in August and they’re already back at it with a killer new single, “Let Go For Love.” The band — which brings together two Canadian Priestner brothers with a Slovakian guitar virtuoso named Lubo – enlisted an all-star team for the LP, including award-winning producer Joe Chiccarelli (White Stripes, Spoon, etc.)

“Welcome to Hell” by Gabriel Black


Gabriel Black released a freestyle demo of “Welcome to Hell” on Halloween 2017. On October 31 this year, the genre-blurring, death-obsessed artist put out a proper single version that further validates his status as one of independent music’s most compelling young voices. At least I think he’s young. I’ve only ever seen him in cartoon form. Black put out Beautiful Life, including diverse singles from the previous year plus two new tracks, earlier in 2018.

“Yellow Bike” by Pedro the Lion

Polyvinyl Records

I’m so happy to see David Bazan recording again as Pedro the Lion and can’t wait to hear the new album Phoenix, due out January 18. It’s the first Pedro the Lion record since 2004. The sublimely sentimental single “Yellow Bike,” about a young Bazan patrolling “his kingdom” on said yellow bicycle, leads me to believe Phoenix will be worth the 14-year wait.

Hate reading? Follow The Songs of SOMETHINGGOOD playlist on Spotify and you never have to come back — but I’d love it if you did.